How do Poets Count

 

 

How do poets count?

Poets count in syllables and lines

Instead of sheeps.

The haiku seventeen

The sonnet fourteen.

 

 

But in love, they count how many

ways thee

And not the pocket’s conquest

 

I learned to count thru my mom’s song

Poems thru my grandmother’s recitation

before I sleep

And when I fall in love,

I count the heartbeats

The minutes we gaze at each other

That melts like ice cream

And If I see tomorrow with him.

 

Love as the poet loveth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

