SUKAT: ( SULAT AT KATHA) My First Literary Workshop

 

 

Last April 19, 2017,  I gave a workshop intended for high schoolers and senior high schoolers.    The group Footprints was behind this lofty endeavor.  The topic I chose was Feminism in Literature.  I do not even consider myself a Literature person, my background being Economics and Psychology.  I am surprised I was included in the panelist together with some renowned Aklanon poets and writer.

 

Since the first invitation ever is coming from a literary circle from my hometown in Numancia, Aklan,  I grabbed that opportunity to share on feminist literature.

 

So I had few fellows but the topic was  well received.  I was a bit anxious how they would accept my topic on gender and literature and its intersection.  I was happy that it gained positive feedbacks.  Some attendees were already college graduates.

 

It was a three day workshop which started April 17, 2017.  Topics include among others, Short Story Writing, Flash Fiction, Binaeaybay in Aklanon and Micro Tales.

 

Truly, it was a humbling experience to be able  to contribute to youth empowerment thru literature and to develop  and inspire their writings.  I also impressed by the youth in our province, they are very receptive to new ideas and can organize such an ambitious endeavors at their age.

 

I also thank this blog, that thru this channel some were able to read my poems although I do not even consider myself a poet for that matter.  Writing for me is just a creative expressions and my words written in the pages of this blog would resonate to others somehow.

 

 

This inspires me to give more energies to my writing.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

